Month: December 2008

  • You know how you sometimes see a dog roaming on the freeway, or a dog who was hit by a car because of that fact? Well recently "Psycho-Mike" from the Kevin & Bean show, saw one of those stray dogs on the freeway and actually decides to stop his car right on the road to rescue the dog. Sure him and his car had to be an obstacle for incoming vehicles, possibly causing an accident or something like that, but he had to save that one dog right? Next time, I think getting a Highway Patrol officer to do a traffic break and get the dog safely out of the way would probably have been the proper action. What would you do though, because most people's normal reaction would be to think "oh how sad, but it's not my problem."
    You can listen to that topic "HERE."

    Speaking of dogs, I hear that because of the bad economy, there's an increase of people out there kidnapping dogs to hold them for ransom. That's terrible, and makes me feel a little paranoid about leaving my dogs in the yard.

  • What I've been listening to lately...

    You Are a Reluctant Shopper
    You really don't enjoy shopping. For you, it's just another chore.
    You approach shopping systematically. You research what you're going to buy and come prepared with a list.

    Of all the types, you are the most likely to not buy things you don't need.
    You try to de-emphasize stuff in your life. You find shopping and buying things to be a rather empty experience.


  • "It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas..."
    Out of all the Holiday seasons in a year, Christmas time is my most favorite. Sure it's not a holiday that's completely in tune with it's real origins and have now become a smorgasbord on things about Santa Clause and gifts and stuff like that. It's a far cry from when I use to celebrate this holiday back in the Philippines, because that was a country that really knew how to do Christmas. In fact, when I first came here to the United States, I was very disappointed with how Christmas is celebrated here. You know the usual complaints, "it's not about Jesus Christ anymore," and "it's gotten to be so materialistic," etc etc etc. That was pretty much how I felt about the holiday for a good 10+ years.

    Things started changing this decade however, and I think I know why. It started when me, my brothers, and my parents decided that we were not going to be pressured into giving each other Christmas gifts anymore. "Gifts are only going to the kids (my nieces, nephew)," was the rule we agreed on. No more are we going to try and find a gift to give to an adult who already has most everything. The thought of giving gifts means something again, and with that I started getting into the Christmas spirit once again. Oddly enough, we all pretty much still gave each other gifts (us adults), but it did not feel like a chore anymore, and that was the key.

    Nowadays, I've really been enjoying the holiday, it's yuletide decorations, the party atmosphere that come with it, the overall "goodwill to all mankind" mentality, the Christmas related movies / TV specials, and the excitement that comes from ending a year and starting a new one.

    Merry Christmas To All !!!

    P.S. If there is one thing I never got tired of, it's the Christmas songs. There are tons of songs out there for this holiday, mostly bad ones, but even those can be tolerable to a degree. Below is an audio link that I thought I should at least post here...
    - the Kevin & Bean show discuss bad Christmas songs (audio)

  • Do you ever read the "Terms of Service" for any website? Yeah, neither do I really. Well after the case of the "MySpace suicide" has reached a conclusion, we may want to pay a little more attention to those Terms of Service. Under the government’s interpretation of the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act (the
    federal anti-hacking law), somebody was actually convicted of violating MySpace's terms of service, with a punishment that could face up to three years in prison and $300,000 in fines. Wow, really? Being familiar with the case, the person responsible of provoking the MySpace suicide should be punished, but this also affects all of us using the internet.

    The verdict is ofcourse going into appeals, and I'm pretty sure we're not all really felons for violating a website's Terms of Service. I mean look at Google's ToS, which states that you have to be at least 18 years of age just to use a search engine. How about all those people who lie about their age in social networking sites that specifically request you provide accurate information about yourselves? We're not all going to start getting convicted for a felony for uploading concert footage on youtube are we?

    I'm a little bit optimistic that it won't be as bad as it sounds, but then the law isn't exactly a flawless system. So uh, just be more careful with what you do with the internet, and start reading those Terms of Service?

    VIDEO -
    - Lori Drew Myspace Suicide case

    LINKS -
    - The Backlash Against the MySpace Conviction
    - MySpace ruling could lead to jail for lying online daters, others
    - Editorial: Internet users should network cautiously due to lack of ...
    - Does the Drew verdict make ToS breakers potential felons?

  • I was awake for such a long time the past day/s (Thursday 12:30PM - Friday 8:30PM), and it was because along with my graveyard shift Thursday night, the Miss DD-cember Pageant Friday morning, there was also the Verizon Fios installation Friday afternoon (a little over 3 hours). So there ya go, I now have Fiber Optics for my Internet, and I'm done with DSL. I mentioned how I've been having problems with my DSL connection, so this faster and more reliable internet connection is a welcome change (all at DSL price too).

    How much faster is Fios to DSL? It's faster than DSL that's for sure, but it's not in the "I can't believe how fast it is" category. Part of the reason is that we are at the lowest service plan (Download up to 10 Mbps / Upload up to 2 Mbps), but I can't deny that there is a definite improvement. You really start noticing the speedier connection when browsing the internet or downloading stuff, and it makes me wonder how the service plan with the fastest connection would feel (Download up to 50 Mbps / Upload up to 20 Mbps). The biggest difference for me is the xbox live interface for my xbox 360, as I'm getting a more smoother experience browsing through the live marketplace on the console, and I get to use the xbox live / Netflix streaming service at it's best looking capability.

    So should you get Fios over DSL or cable? Well, I would easily say not really, but it definitely helps if you have a gaming unit to take advantage of it.

  • "What does that mean?" That's the question I've been using a lot lately. It's partly because I'm getting tired of people conveying only half the detail of something they are trying to tell me. People need to stop assuming that others can read their minds, by only saying particular key words that they think completely explains everything. Sure we're suppose to be "smart enough" to "get" what you are saying, but I've been burned several times already by not knowing all the details. If you are talking to me, don't leave out the details, because I actually want to hear it. My feeling about this could be partly blamed to my OCD nature, because I do feel less in control of things if I only know half the details of something directly affecting me.

  • What I've been listening to lately...

    Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

    You Would Make an Okay 1930's Husband
    You have some of the attributes of an ideal 1930's husband.
    You're well mannered, kind, and even tempered.
    You have a few nasty habits, but what man doesn't?

  • If you remember, almost two months ago I mentioned about how somebody I know actually has a stalker. Well the story continues on that, because here's a little update. As the weeks went on, that guy would still show up, and my acquaintance would just be moved somewhere else or walk away from the area. Every time he shows up, she would report about it to management, and it got to the point that somebody had to approach the guy. Just recently, the guy showed up again, but this time some action was taken. Company security and the local police approached the guy and talked to him. I don't know the details of what the conversation was, but apparently he was told that "a case" was being filed on this incident, and that he was to avoid going near her at all cost. That's it. Their hands were tied and no action could be taken against him until he does something worse. Figures right? Now no more than a couple of hours after that incident, the guy actually had the nerve to walk right behind her. It definitely freaked her out, but all she could do was walk away, and then report about it later. Wow. I'm hoping this doesn't escalate to something terrible.