July 5, 2005

  • After many many years, I finally got myself a new cellphone and a new number. My new cell phone is the just released Motorola E815. This baby is so new, that I got it on the day the Verizon store I went to received it.  It's so new that the official motorola
    site doesn't even have it listed. In fact, the funny thing was that I
    was originally going to get the model preceeding the E815, but was
    persuaded to check it out instead.  Despite my humoring him at
    first, I found out that it's cheaper than the older model, so I was
    immediately sold on it.

     

         

    I now have a phone that has features that I've denied myself for many years.

    Camera phone? yup, 1.3 megapixels (that's 640 x 480). Plus it comes
    with a flash, and has 4x digital zoom (it's not optical, but what the
    hey). It's even got video camera capabilities.

    MP3 player? yup.  At first I wasn't even sure how to get MP3 files
    into my phone, and I even called up customer service, but they didn't
    know the answer themselves. Fortunately, googling
    the subject got me the information I was looking for.  One of them
    is to e-mail the mp3 file to my phone, but it has to be less than 150k
    in size.  So I had to do some audio editing on my part to meet
    that.  At the end, I now have my own personal ringtones just the
    way I like them.  The other option would be to purchase a Transflash memory card for the phone.  I'll consider getting something like that in the future.

    Another cool thing is that unlike my previous phone where I have to
    manually give the people in my contact list a designated voice command,
    this time around I don't have to do that.  My phone recognizes the
    text of the name of the contact.

    Besides my fiddling around with the mp3 functionality, there were some
    negatives that needs to be pointed out. First off, Verizon doesn't
    include the clip belt for the phone, as it only came with the AC
    adapter in the box.  Secondly, whenever I plug in my earpiece to
    it's mic jack, my voice recording functions comes on
    accidentally.  Thirdly, I actually experienced a "not enough
    memory to do that action right now" message, but it was easily remedied
    by rebooting the phone.

    There's many other functions
    that I'm still just now finding out (like I actually have speaker phone
    capabilities for once), and eventually I'll be a pro with using my
    phone.  So far though, it's all good and gravy for me.

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment