January 27, 2007

  • Despite the sold-out status that the Nintendo Wii is still experiencing in the stores, a friend of mine, has a friend, who is connected to Nintendo. "You want a Nintendo Wii?" "Sure, just give me $250 retail price amount, and I'll get you one." A few days later, my friend has a Wii that he was able to get for his kids. He's had it for a couple of weeks now, but I only just recently visited to have a full play test with the console.

    I started off with creating my "Mii," which I tried to make it look somewhat like me. Being that I'm pretty OCD about things like this (see Fight Night), I held back going all out with how my Mii looks and proceeded with actually playing the system. The first game I wanted to try was "Wii Sports - Bowling." Getting used to the Wii controllers motion sensitivity was a non-issue, and I pretty much just applied how I would bowl in real life to the game. I ended up playing Bowling for one hour straight, and even had some great head to head competition with my friend's cousin. It was just sooo much fun, and just about a good home substitute to actual real life bowling. I tried the other Wii Sports, like Tennis, Boxing, and Golf (I never did try Baseball), but bowling is clearly hands on the best one of the bunch, with Golf being a good second. I also tried Rayman Raving Rabids, and that was also pretty fun. Two hours later, and I had an immediate urge to go out and get my own Nintendo Wii (and I didn't even need to try out Zelda). In fact, I actually did go to the stores and tried to buy one right after I left my friend's house, but unfortunately, it was still all sold out. I was on a "Wii high" I guess, and just needed to get one.

    I originally had my concerns about causing damage with the Wii remote flying off hands and killing TV's or computer monitors. After the play time I have though, you have to be an idiot for that to happen. You must have room around your "gaming area" though, so that you don't hurt anybody with the arm swinging and all (I almost hit my friend's head). The graphics may not be as great as the xbox 360 or the PlayStation 3,
    but damn Nintendo for creating an incredibly fun gaming console in the
    Nintendo Wii. Despite the fact that the 360 is already doing a good job in
    my video gaming needs, I wouldn't be surprised if I end up getting one sometime
    this year.

    *UPDATE*
    as of 3:30PM today, I am now a proud owner of a Nintendo Wii !!!

    I went to Best Buy just to "take a look" and see if they have some in stock. I go to the games section and I see a guy actually purchasing a Wii at the register there. I quickly asked the Best Buy employee if they had more in stock, and it turns out they had at least six left, out of the twelve units they received this same day. I immediately told them that I wanted one, and next thing I know it, a few more people show up behind me, waiting in line to get a Nintendo Wii as well. Needless to say, if I wasn't there at that particular moment, I probably wouldn't have been able to get one today. I bought Rayman Raving Rabids, WarioWare Smooth Moves, and Zelda : Twilight Princess, plus I have the free pack-in game with Wii Sports. Now all I need is an additional controller, but that's sold out. Boo Yah!

    below is just a small sample of what a Nintendo Mii is

Comments (7)

  • haha really? when i was watching ppl play bowling on that thing, it seemed like everyone was well matched so i thought it wasn't very representative of real bowling. not that i like real bowling so i guess i'll never know lol.

  • Yea I played Wii Sports (a couple weeks ago) and it is pretty darn fun.   Jackie LOVES Wii Bowling too.  She'll score over 200 and I can't even get close.  I like the fact that for Wii Bowling you can have up to 4 people use 1 controller.  I think that Wario game should be a fun party game.  :)   Yea it's pretty addicting.  Hehe.

  • I ALMOST let go of the controller when I was swinging the controller during tennis, but that's only because I totally strained my shoulder. It's been a few weeks now and it still hurts. We've come to the conclusion that I must have torn a tendon or something. "Yes, Doctor.... I hurt it by playing imaginary tennis." heh heh (sigh)

  • Just tell the doctor you have "wii-elbow." ^_^

    Wii-Bowling isn't "exactly" like real-life bowling, as it is easier to get your hits in. However, the sensation of real-life bowling is duplicated and represented really well.

  • Hey it's me Lydnon, I got one for X-mas and I love it. I just bought Wario- Smooth moves and that game is awesome. I have Trauma Center- Second opinion, RAYMAN,  You are right about the graphics but in terms of fun , especially with the family because anyone can  pick it up and play it's the best. GET ONE!!!

  • http://techbargains.com/buywii.htm

    I'm waiting but I refuse to get a bundle.

  • yes. I love it. I spent the night outside target to get my Wii. It was definitely worth it. wii console bundles

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories