May 18, 2010

  • Famous movie director Woody Allen has said a few things recently about growing old, and despite the fact that I’m no where near his age, I can’t help but agree to his point of view (If only I could be 25 forever). Here below are quotes from what he said, which you can also find at : http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/8684809.stm

    “My relationship with death remains the same – I’m strongly against it,”

    “I find it a lousy deal. There is no advantage to getting older,”

    “I’m 74 now and you don’t get smarter, you don’t get wiser, you don’t get more mellow, you don’t get more kindly – nothing happens.”

    “But your back hurts more, you get more indigestion, your eyesight isn’t as good and you need a hearing aid. It’s a bad business getting older and I would advise you not to do it if you can avoid it.”

    “One must have one’s delusions to live. If you look at life too honestly and too clearly life does become unbearable because it’s a pretty grim enterprise,”

Comments (1)

  • In a lot of ways premature aging is in the mind.  Check out this bit of research on the reversing of aging by changing your surroundings.

    I’m not saying to go midlife crisis on everything but a lot of how you act is your state of mind.  What’s funny is I see this sometimes both when I’m coaching fencing or teaching at the college.  Majority of the people I encounter in fencing are in their late teens or early 20s.  When I go through exercises, it’s funny how many act so stiff or slow that I have to start making fun of them to get them to work harder.  On the flipside a couple of the guys in their 50′s and 60′s are much faster and better than I am.

    One thing that did catch me by surprise recently is while I was teaching a class, I made a comment that I’ve been working in the computer industry for 15 years.  It seems a majority of my students assumed I was in my mid-twenties.  Sadly for me they’re off by a decade.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories