Month: August 2004

  • Frustration frustration frustration.  This lady at work frustrated
    the hell outta me for her idiocy and her holier than thou
    attitude.  She complains that she hurt herself in one of our
    transportation vehicles, and said she should have been warned to watch
    her head. What, was she deaf and blind?  We got nothing but
    warnings to watch your head.  So when I told her that, she goes
    off a tangent and says that we were being unprofessional by finding her
    situation humorous.  She claims we laughed, pointed at her, and
    (her favorite description) SMIRKED at her situation.  I didn't
    have a mirror in front of me, but I was NOT smirking at her, and just
    looking at my co-workers I can tell that they looked more upset at her
    accusations than "smirking" at her.  She even said that if we
    worked under her, we would have been fired right on the spot. Really?
    Well, I feel sorry for the people that work for her, since she's
    obviously such a  idiot. Oh, she
    proudly announces that she works for Warner Bros, and I won't be
    surprised then if she was involved with that fiasco of a movie called
    Catwoman.

    Lady, if you or your son who was cursing a storm for being an idiot too happens to read this, well be a dear and
    off and realize that this is what I would have said to you right there
    and then if I wasn't on the clock. You even took time away from my
    break because I had to write a statement about your idiocy! 
    arrgghh, idiots can be so frustrating!

    If there's one thing that really upsets me, it's being accused of something that I did not do. You don't question my integrity!

  • It's kinda sad, but at work they are cutting down the work hours. 
    A majority of the lower seniority employees are feeling the burn the
    most.  One of them was even in tears at one point, when she
    realized that she is going to get screwed in having to pay bills when
    her pay check is going to get cut short.  Changing your lifestyle
    to accomodate for having less money isn't a great feeling.  In
    fact it's downright depressing.  If only it were easy for all of
    us to get better paying jobs, but looking for a new job nowadays just
    isn't that great.

    Luckily, I'm more or less not that affected by the cut backs....
    kinda.... It makes my job harder when I have less people to boss
    around.  

  • So I had another event to go to yet again.  My parents threw a
    belated birthday party for my brother.  Ironically, it's at the
    same time one of my friend's is throwing a barbeque at his place. 
    Being that it is a family thing, I had to ditch my friend's gig. Sorry
    buddy.

    I started going through some pictures for my new set of avatars and I
    think I'm going to like my new ones.  There's a lot more variety
    on them, and I'm probably going to change them every week. The avatar
    that I have up right now here in xanga is going to be one of them.

    My oldest brother showed me how to do a "hammer" on my guitar
    today.  I can do the first riff of my favorite Metallica song
    now.  Maybe I'll finally get motivated to learn how to play.

    My girl's PC went kaput last week.  Through my recommendation, we
    went ahead and decided to redo her whole computer. Format, re-install,
    etc...  In fact I'm doing that right now, just taking a break to
    post here...so back to work for me....

  • Today is going to be a long post, so I chopped them up to "three chapters"


    CHAPTER ONE - "It started off good, but not for long...."

    So I left for San Diego at about 3:45PM to pick up my girl's
    brother.  I figured that since I have to pick him up by 6PM, that
    should be enough time to get there even if there was traffic. 
    Boy, I was wrong. 
    FYI, it takes roughly a little over an hour to get to San Diego from
    where I live, and it's about 110 miles of travel.  This is how my
    drive went based on the miles and how it took for me to cover that...

    First 20 miles = 3:45PM - 3:55PM (10 minutes)
    Next 30 miles = 3:55PM - 5:20PM (85 minutes)
    Next 10 miles = 5:20PM - 5:30PM (10 minutes)
    Next 40 miles = 5:30PM - 7:05PM (95 minutes)
    Last 10 miles = 7:05PM - 7:10PM (5 minutes)

    For 110 miles it took me 3 hours and 25 minutes of driving because of friggin traffic!!!


    CHAPTER TWO - "something else goes wrong"

    Based on the map I looked prior to driving there, I figured I would
    exit "Camino del rio" to get to the hotel he was staying.
    Well....the exit : "Camino del rio" DOES NOT EXIST! As soon as I realized this, I
    exited the nearest exit and "hoped" to find the streets I need to get
    there.  No such luck.  With no map of that area, I called my
    girl to get online, but she herself is also on the road.  I then
    called her brother, but all he knows is the cross street.  I
    talked to the hotel desk clerk, and all she can tell me was that I was
    suppose to exit "Rosecrans" from the 5 freeway.  She couldn't tell
    me how to get to the hotel from where I was calling at that time, and
    kept insisting I head back for the freeway.

    Rosecrans, Rosecrans, Rosecrans....why wasn't Camino Del Rio the exit? I mean, just look at the map... maps.yahoo.com or mapquest.com

    So I drove around some more for about 20 minutes before I got to my
    destination.  Took a quick run to the restroom, and by 7:45PM we were heading back for
    home.  This time though, it's closer to what it should be; 110 miles
    in 1 hour and 25 minutes.  We would have gone back sooner but the
    freeway was going an average of 65mph (I want my average 80mph!).


    CHAPTER THREE - the thing I originally had friday planned for

    The concert that I'm going to that night already started at 7PM. 
    By the time I got to the concert, it was already 9:40PM, and I was
    praying that "Killswitch Engage" hasn't come on yet.  Luckily,
    they haven't, although I missed the first two opening acts
    completely.  The third act; "36 Crazy Fists," were still going
    through the middle of their set when I got there.  I decided then
    to go buy that KSE t-shirt I always wanted and went inside the crowded
    room. 
    By that time I was pretty much pretty darn tired for driving
    practically SIX hours straight.  But for Killswitch, I was okay to
    go.

    Killswitch Engage played only for about one hour (10:25PM - 11:25PM),
    which is kinda disappointing to me.  I'm used to bands like
    Metallica playing over two hours of material, although that Shadow's Fall conert, they too only played for about an hour, but I digress.
    One thing about KSE shows, for whatever reason, there are hot chicks
    everywhere I look! Well, smooshed up  in the crowd together with
    all the guys in the black shirts. Hot chicks here and there, and
    dressed so nice. When
    I'm in the crowd, there are hot chicks "accidentally bumping" into me
    with whatever body parts it was, because there is no room to really
    move
    around in.....

    This is actually the second KSE show I attended this year, with the
    first one being this past spring. Between the two shows, I think I
    liked the previous one better, but there are things in this gig that I
    liked. The previous gig had a good set list but they didn't include
    many of their new songs, while this gig they did which I like. The
    previous gig Adam Dutkiewicz had funny short interludes between songs,
    this gig they weren't as funny and they lasted too long (eating up time
    for songs!). The previous gig I had the privacy of my own seat to go
    headbanging, this gig I had to stand next to the mosh pit in the thick of
    the crowd (I haven't been "the mosh pit wall" for a long time). 

    All in all, this has been one tiring day for me.

  • Go to concert or Please my woman : Take two

    Truth be told, I am practically whipped by my girl, and I was this
    <-> close to just giving in and tell her I'll do it.  I did
    talk to her about it in our initial conversation, and she knows what it
    means to me, to the point
    where she said that'll she pick him up herself.  Which kinda sucks
    for her because it's realistically more of a hassle for her (because of
    her work) than it is for me (it's my day off). Obviously I felt
    guilty about that, hence the conundrum and the xanga post.

    But there's light in the tunnel here.  I checked again online to
    see if it's still sold out, and I was lucky enough to get a "will call"
    ticket for the concert.  The band I want to see itself doesn't
    play 'till about 9pm (there's three opening acts), so if I pick up her
    brother at 5pm - 6pm the latest (or earlier), that should give me time
    to get back here just for them. I should be back to drop her brother
    off at 8pm, which will then give me time to possibly get gas, drive,
    park, and get the will call ticket for Killswitch Engage!  I guess
    I'll just have to eat a nice lunch, 'cuz I'm not eating while driving.

    I hope traffic doesn't kill this plan too much...

  • Right now I'm in a moral dilemma.  For quite awhile now, I've set
    my sights on attending the Killswitch Engage concert on Friday night
    (8/27).  Just recently, my girlfriend asked me if I can go pick up
    her brother from San Diego on Friday.  If it was any other day I
    would quickly say "sure," even though it's about a 210 miles round trip
    drive.  But why does it have to be friday? why?  So far I
    haven't commited to an answer yet, but I'm leaning towards "no," or
    "can he wait until after the concert ends?" 

    Sure it's easy to tell me to forget about the concert and help out the
    girlfriend, but to me it's not that simple.  My taste in music for
    one is not very similar to the people I know (like my girlfriend), and
    I usually do not have an outlet to share that with anybody else
    really.  Going to these concerts has always been a good release
    for me, and I'll really be disappointed if I couldn't make it friday
    night. 

    But here's also the thing, I was not able to get a ticket for the
    concert as it has sold out already.  I'm hoping that they have
    tickets at the door for me to buy, but if I was to go to San Diego, I
    wouldn't even be able to give myself that chance to try.  I want
    to at least have that chance to try and get the ticket.  If it turns out that it is completely sold out,
    then I have absolutely no problem picking up her brother.  But
    then that's the thing isn't it?  I'll be able to pick him up as
    early as 7:30pm or as late as 1am, depending on that.  I will
    further think about this....

  • At work next month, we are having an awards event in the vein of the
    oscars. What it basically does is give out awards and recognition to
    the employees and their specialties.  Surprisingly enough, I've
    been nominated in the Lead category for my department at my
    company.  I've got to say that I'm really flattered that I've been
    nominated, along with the four others for the Lead category. 
    We'll see next month if I win.

    speaking of leadership, check this out!!!


    Maybe I'll try and do this again and see what happens....

  • Normally, I'm not a fan of big gatherings, but I always thought it was
    simply because I was just selective to which gatherings I like to be
    in. The past long weekend I had makes me second think that
    explanation.  The first excuse was that I'm just quiet around a
    large group, but that isn't entirely true either.  The second
    excuse is that I don't have anything to say really, which I suppose is
    a half truth.  My girlfriend even said that she can't shut me up
    sometimes, so there's more to it than that.

    In the past, I've been told that I can be too direct and callous about
    my opinions at times.  I've also noticed that I tend to have
    unpopular opinions about somethings, and I've been in conflict with
    others because of that. I try and consciously refrain from speaking my
    mind too much unless provoked to do so, because I quite honestly would
    rather not get into heated arguments.  I suppose because of this
    thinking I'm not into conversing in large crowds and it's kinda holding
    me back a bit.  I'm pretty much in a "speak only when needed to"
    mode when I'm around people. 

    I guess I simply just need to find that proper balance to solve this "problem"..... that doesn't involve alcohol. We'll see how it goes, as I still have lots of events I need to attend to in the next weeks. To be continued....


    The evening sky of Los Angeles, California.  aarrghhh the bloody sky of doom!!!!!

  • SRC="http://www.readingforresults.com/rating/pg13.jpg">
    My
    life is rated PG-13.
    HREF="http://www.readingforresults.com/rating/quiz.htm" target="_new">What is your
    life rated?


    After watching Transformers 'till 2:30am, I was going, damn I need to
    wake up at 6:30am.  So I went straight to bed. Unfortunately,
    around 3am when I was already asleep, we get a black out. Damn frigging
    black out!  So ofcourse I was up and about checking on stuff and
    the dog to make sure everything is okay.  I think I ended up
    actually sleeping at 4am.  I ended up waking up at about 7:30am,
    and then half asleep 'till 8am, so forget my minimum 4 hours of sleep
    rule.  The reason I needed to wake up early was because we were
    going to shoot a video for my brother's wedding.

    A couple of the sample videos that we could have done were "the matrix"
    (uhhmm, no, too cheezy), "the Bachelor" (I'm NOT dressing in drag), and
    a music video (we chose that).  The girls decided they wanted to
    do "summer nights" from the grease soundtrack, but noone had the
    CD.  By the time we bought the CD, it was already about 11:30am,
    pretty much the time we figured we would have been done by.  So
    much for lunch ey?  So we did our song and dance numbers (if you
    would call that dancing) and we were done by about 2:30pm. 
    Personally, I would have done things a little different, but hey, it's
    not my wedding.